Twins

Since caring for children was the most important job I’ve ever had – and the one I spent the most years doing – I’ve decided to add some new childcare related categories to my blog. A variety of tips and hints from a blessed mother of six!

I rescued this picture from a ‘cat versus photo frame’ incident yesterday, prompting the addition of a multiple birth category. I will have to dig deep into the archives and memory banks for my old scrapbooks, journals and thoughts on caring for two babies at once.  However I haven’t forgotten how exciting yet overwhelming it was, even as an experienced mother of four, to see the unexpected on an ultrasound screen at 9 weeks of pregnancy. I immediately began a quest to read every ‘twins’ article and book I could find. Perhaps positive thinking, my own fitness and above all a wonderful obstetrician resulted in the best possible outcome – the arrival of healthy babies at 38 weeks (full term for twins) weighing 8lbs 5 1/2 oz and 7lbs 2oz . Armed with a wealth of multiple birth pre-reading knowledge and lots of pairs of loving family arms, we all began a new adventure three days before Christmas 1992. Sunnybank Hospital chefs make a wonderful December 25th traditional roast dinner.

The caring for twins path I chose may not have always been completely smooth but I know I must have done something right because after 18 years these happy little boys continue to be the best of friends. Never ‘double trouble’, always ‘twice as nice’.

Published in: on September 20, 2011 at 10:09 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://susankayej.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/twins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

