Dolls

I have wanted to replace my ‘much adored and worn beyond repair’ childhood Sindy teen doll ever since she met a sad end in the junk pile some years back. I was thrilled to discover this one in an antique shop a few months ago for $25, with just a little of her face peeking out from an old paper covered box. Going by the wedding wrapping paper, the style of her dress and the attached posy of flowers, she appears to be dressed in a sample bridesmaid outfit which I recall was common practice in the 60’s. Although I preferred baby dolls to Barbies, a favourite pastime was playing house with my precious down to earth English model – and I even presented her with blonde haired baby twin dolls to nurture. When my brother and Sindy’s boyfriend Paul joined the game, this teen mum often took on the role of Penny from the TV show ‘Lost In Space’. As with all of my second hand discoveries, I would dearly love to know this particular old toy’s true story. And yet perhaps not knowing is what makes such treasures even more special……the magic of long lost secrets.

Published in: on October 2, 2011 at 11:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://susankayej.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/dolls/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

