Family

There exists in Ipswich a place where I feel even more at home than I do in my own home. The kind of place you want to visit in good times and in bad. A place where you feel so comfortable that you never want to leave.

After an intimate family gathering there for my beautiful sister’s sixtieth birthday, her son and daughter in law organized this memento of the day – a photo book of all the special moments. When I first saw it, I didn’t want to put it down. Pictures of us – the mothers, fathers, husbands, wives, daughters, sons, cousins, nieces, nephews, grandparents and grandchildren – relaxing, playing and catching up on stories we’d missed when life became too busy for us to share them before. Weeks later I contacted my niece and nephew to let them know I’d seen the wonderful gift they gave their mum, adding a little plea that I must arrange copies of a few of the photos sometime. Then to my surprise, on my birthday last year, I opened a parcel to find my very own copy of the whole book, complete with photos of family members unable to attend the occasion and with an added message just for me.

Thankyou Linda and Tony for this treasure.

Thankyou Lesley and Allan for always making us feel welcome in your amazing house and garden.

Published in: on March 2, 2012 at 10:53 pm  Comments (1)