Dolls

My reborn orangutans and gorilla

I’d wanted some kind of monkey doll ever since I saw little Umi the orangutan in an Ashton Drake catalogue years ago but unfortunately the timing wasn’t right and the price too great.

http://www.ashtondrake.com/products/301156001_so-truly-real-vinyl-doll.html

Then while visiting a doll fair with my sister I totally fell in love with – and took home with me – a Denise Pratt ‘Binki’ orangutan reborned by Margaret Willis from ‘Noonsie’s Cradle’.

The following year my sister ordered a ‘Binki’ from the same artist and when we went to pick her up there was also a ‘Bindi’ for sale. I took ‘Bindi’ home too.

I was delighted to reunite a little orangutan sister and her brother and felt my reborn ape collection was now complete.

Until……

during a wonderful trip to the doll fair with my sister in April, it was another case of love at first sight and I bought this precious ‘Kiwi’ gorilla and named him ‘Keanu’.

Although I originally intended for my reborns to be collectibles that sit on a shelf, my recent struggle with ’empty nest syndrome’ led me to find comfort in cuddling and dressing these new additions to the family. And a sudden fascination with ‘reborn’ youtube clips made me aware that there are many others out there with this special hobby. In particular the videos posted by Katie of her gorilla ‘Gaby’  captured my attention.

This one is the sweetest thing I have ever seen

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWFl7-InreM

I can’t upload videos yet but here are some photos to go on with……

Keanu re-dressed in baby clothes

Keanu with the monkey patterned taggies that I found brand new in a thrift shop

Bad hair day for just awake Keanu wearing new PJ’s from the country market

Keanu with his Beanie Boo gorilla

Feeding time at the zoo, Binki and Bindi in pink and blue

In my spare time (?) – proud to be a reborn mummy 

My grandson Sebastian was very patient and helpful while joining in with reborn gorilla Keanu’s first outing and photo session….

 

See my facebook album ‘Little gorilla’s big adventure’

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.459819660699210.123508.100000135390641&type=1

Published in: on May 19, 2012 at 8:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://susankayej.wordpress.com/2012/05/19/dolls-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

